Reading Goals

Last year I noticed I had barely read any new books, or just my existing books. My kobo sat for a bit being unused. I read a few last summer, but for the most part, that was it. Something needed to change. I was the type of person to devour new books in a single day. I stayed up way too late and read all day long as a teenager. Now, having children totally changed that dynamic, I still crave new books and will read them in every free part of my day some days. Nap time, after they’ve gone to bed, and sometimes while they’re playing quietly by themselves.

So, what has worked for me? Having an ereader. Last year for Christmas I got a Kobo ereader. It was great once I figured out how to get books from my mac on to my android ereader. It took like 2 months for me to figure that out without wanting to throw my kobo out the window. Last summer I got a free ipad mini by using reward points and its been AMAZING. Not only is it compatible with my computer, but Tony gets the kobo for his PC and its also compatible. None of this cross platform frustration nonsense that I dealt with before. Sure it can be done, but I like easy.

Also, I love GoodReads. So, pretty much it keeps track of what you’ve read, what you want to read, and recommends books to you. Also, you can see what your friends are reading to get an idea of what to read next. You can see what the general public has rated the book and get a grasp on if you want to read it. Its a website and app that you can download for free. So, please add me to your friends and update your list of books so I can get some ideas for what to read next.

The library! I go there every couple weeks with the kids. My library has a really decent website where I can request books and the librarians do all the work of finding my books for me. I go and pickup my stack of books and its all good. No searching for books with two children running amok when my attention is elsewhere.

Also, OverDrive! The app that lets you rent ebooks from your public library. Very cool stuff. I’ve used it a bunch when I don’t have time to get out of the house. My library doesn’t have the best selection of ebooks, but usually the new stuff is on there, so I like checking stuff out from time to time.

Soooo, now I should get to my reading goals. Right now I have a goal of 12 books in 12 months on there, and right now I’ve read 10 and have until December or January.  I think I’ve got a good variety of books read, but I should read some more non fiction.

What I’ve read so far:

Still Alice 

Curly Girl: The Handbook

Daughter of Smoke and Bone

The Help

The One (The Selection trilogy)

The Fault in Our Stars

Heaven is for Real

Stardust

The Ocean at the end of the Lane

Hyperbole and a Half

I look at this list and it makes me laugh a bit. Theres no common theme with these books. Pretty random collection I’ve got going on.

I’m really looking forward to Amy Poehler’s book coming out called Yes Please. I love this gal. I’m a little bummed because I have to wait until October. Ugh.

2 thoughts on “Reading Goals

  1. Nice! I need to get reading. The book I’m reading has dust on it. That may be because I’m not a fan of the series, but my OCD won’t let me leave a series unfinished. Must read more.

    • Tony is like that, but with movies. If its just awful, he still needs to finish it. Just tell yourself you’ll totally get back to it after a break. I figured you read this and then updated your GoodReads account 😀

Comments are closed.