A few quick takes

-Spotify – I totally love it. I was using Pandora for a while but I hated that it started getting repetitive and I got annoyed with it. I saw that spotify was for Canada now, and thats nifty. I am using the free version and I really really like it. Found a bunch of new music and its fantastic. Thumbs up for spotify for being available in Canada.

-I’m finding plastic dinosaurs everywhere in the house. I bought some specifically for Lucas’ party, but they found them and now dinos are taking over. Its ok because I’ve hidden most of them again while cleaning. Speaking of cleaning, I tried a new glass cleaner recipe because even though my old one cleaned, it was streaky. Its got 1/4 vinegar, 1/4 rubbing alcohol, and then 2 cups water and the magic ingredient: 1 tbsp cornstarch. So weird, and I was skeptical but its so awesome. Go cornstarch!

-There is a pile of children’s clothes in my kitchen. Now that the kiddie pool is set up, they typically undress at the back door by the dining room table and then put their swim suits on and take off. I didn’t think they’d practically live in that pool, but that seems to be the case. Better change up the water soon, its looking a little too grassy.

-My kitchen smells delightful, and I hope this recipe is a winner. I have honey garlic chicken in the crockpot. I under use that crockpot and when I do pull it out, its like we’re long lost friends and how could I ever put you away and forget about you?

-In the midst of cleaning and prepping for a birthday party, I really get distracted and want to sew things instead. Procrastisewing, similar to procrastibaking. I do both, but when its too hot to bake, its procrastisewing. I need to make a needle book, like YESTERDAY. I keep finding stupid packs of needles and favourite needles all over in different floss and threads and in places in the house. Found some behind my bedside table, and some in a thread beside the couch and under my desk. So, its time to make a cute book to store them all in. Most of my favourite needles are my late grandmas, so, don’t lose them.

-I’ve been planning out what to make for everyone for christmas. I’ve got some bigger projects that I need to start now to get done by December. I figured out last year that I’m an excellent planner and procrastinator. I make the best plans and leave them all till like 2 weeks before Christmas when I need to then sew a dozen pot holders and can lemon curd and bake cookies. So, I’m telling myself to get on it and get stuff done now instead of later. I also might be doing a craft fair this november, and that means making stuff for that. Oh poop, what have I gotten into? Its ok to be a little overwhelmed about that right now right? Anyone have advice for doing craft fairs? How scary is it?

 

One thought on “A few quick takes

  1. I’ve attended a few craft fairs and conventions with my sister. It’s not scary, but super boring sometimes. My pro tips: bring a well stocked cooler with water and snacks. You won’t always be able to leave your table. Do not use a low chair. Find a tall chair, directors style. Customers feel awkward approaching a table when you are lower than them. I had many pro conventioners confirm this! Bring lots of change, people only have large bills. My sister would bring 100 worth of change. Mostly loonies and toonies. Lastly, keep a record of sales. It sounds stupid but it’s amazing how you can forget the small stuff!
    Have fun!! I’m a tad jealous, I want to attend a craft fair with my own stuff next year 🙂 if you need any help at the fair, let me know!

Comments are closed.