Garden 2015

I really like to garden. My dad likes it too. Its his garden, but I like to help with it. Gardening has always been pretty relaxing for me. His garden space is nice a big, and I love that we can plant so many kinds of vegetables in it.

beanscloseup

He builds the boxes and structures and then I plant the seeds. There are pole beans this year and scattered throughout is dill from last year that came back.

firstbed

In this first bed, there are radishes (which I’m not a huge fan of when it comes to eating them, but I’ll give them a try this year). Then there are hot peppers and oregano. I had originally planted basil where the peppers are, but it just never took off. There’s one seedling of basil growing. I caved and bought 2 plants and dad put them in a pot near the other peppers.

radishcloseupfirstbed2

Then there are beets in the first box, (my favourite), carrots in the second box and then lastly onions and summer savoury in the third box. I’ve had to do the carrots over once, but the seeds were old because the new seeds are working out just great.

summersavory

I’m looking forward to putting savoury in soup this year. Bean soup specifically.

secondbed

Last year my tomatoes had fungus or something bad and I reluctantly tossed them. These tomatoes are looking so happy. This whole bed is just tomatoes, and dill in the back. Again with the dill, I know. We all really like dill.

thirdbedbeens

The beans look really good. I took this picture in the morning and then an hour later we put in taller posts. We underestimated how big they would get. They are growing like mad.

lucasplantingbeets

The last bed we did a 2 boxes of beets and then one of rainbow chard. The kids love planting seeds, and the beet seeds are nice a big for them to do.

sadieplantingchardThen there are potatoes across the yard, and potatoes behind the 4 big garden beds. My dad is very happy about his potatoes being in boxes. We got the idea from Laura and Earl. They are the biggest potato plants I’ve ever seen.

lucaswateringpotatoes

sadiewateringcucumbers

Cucumbers were one of the last plants to go in this year. They get a nice shady spot in the yard near the potatoes and rhubarb. I’m so excited to watch the garden grow, and see pictures from just tiny seedlings to big flourishing plants. I want to try and post progress once every couple weeks.

