Easter weekend and an introduction to Gertrude

So, it’s been a while. I’m chilling in bed, listening to My Brother, my brother and me podcast, and I realized it’s been a few months since I was over here.

So, what’s new? Well, Tony is still training, but he’s almost finished. I went out to visit him for Easter weekend, and it was so nice to be back together. We saw Niagara Falls, drove to Ottawa to see the Canadian War museum, and then relaxed in Kingston. I also still hate flying, but it can’t be helped. Big planes are a-ok to me, but this time I took a tiny 20 seater plane to Toronto and that was the most terrible experience ever. It was like an unpredictable roller coaster and I sat there gripping the armrests and praying that we wouldn’t die in a fiery inferno. Totally survived, but never again tiny plane, never again.

After that harrowing experience, I got home and we had Easter dinner the next day. It was turkey and it was delicious.

The kids hunted for eggs in the back yard, and those plastic eggs were then used in the days afterwards. They played egg hunt every chance they had. Re hiding treats and toys.

A couple days ago I was browsing the facebook bidding wars and something wonderful caught my eye, a super old sewing machine. I scoured Google to see what kind it was based on the 2 pictures shown, and it looked like a Singer 202. I was absolutely shocked to see the highest bid was $1.50. For reals??? So, I put a $10 bid up thinking I’d be out bid at anytime, but nobody bid against me. It blew my mind that nobody saw the value like I did. I was willing to go to $50, but I ended up winning it for $10. After taking it home, I turned it on, got it threaded and it ran like a dream. Its actually a 201-3, and it’s so nice. I ordered oil, more bobbins, needles and a lightbulb for it and I can’t wait to use it more often once she’s been fancied up.

She has a beautiful stitch. I can’t wait to quilt with her. I’ve been researching and reading manuals and watching YouTube videos all about her for the last two days. I have plans on updating the motor and wiring with Tony.

She came with a box full of accessories and a helpful cleaning tip cut from a magazine. I love that even after 67 years, she runs so well. So, that’s my new obsession.

